MSHA members in action.

MSHA Committees

Committees

If you would like to join a committee or the board, please contact the current MSHA President Lezlie Pearce-Hopper at pearcehopp@aol.com

Ad-Hoc Committees
SEAL:   Janis Hayes-Strom hayes-stromj@billingsschools.org Report
Fall Convention:   Catherine Drescher

Jennifer Closson

cdrescher@rmeec.com Report
SMAC/STARS:   Carol Morse Mumsey05@bresnan.net Report
Advisory Council Crystal Dvorak, Jenny Lee Nitz Crystal@rehderhearing.com

nitzj@billingsschools.org

Report
Prevention Diane Simpson Report
Community Outreach:   Leah Jacobsen    leahjacobsen@hotmail.com Report
CSPD Jennifer Closson Jennifer.closson@mso.umt.edu Report
Website:   Emily Stafslien emily.stafslien@gmail.com Report
Public Relations:   Kitty Griffin   kittygriffinoffsite@me.com Report
Student Coordinator/SCHWA:   Amy Glaspey Amy.glaspey@mso.umt.edu Report
Scholarship: Shelby Midboe Shelby.midboe@gmail.com report
U of M/Schwa Rep. Carlee Johnson carlee.johnson@umconnect.umt.edu
OTHER
CEU Anne Juel Annejuel2002@yahoo.com
CE (MSHA Only) Mary Callahan Slp.callahan@yahoo.com
Website Design Corinne Earl  casdesignsmt@gmail.com
Region Coordinator 1  Marilyn Thaden-Miles City  m.thaden@hotmail.com
Region Coordinator 2  Laurie Grisham-Great Falls
Region Coordinator 3
Region Coordinator 4  Jennifer Pierce-Butte

Lezlie Pearce-Hopper Helena

 cmatters@qwestoffice.net 

pearcehopp@aol.com
Region coordinator 5

COMMITTEES – DUTIES

ConventionTo plan a program for the annual Fall Convention.

Political Action Committee – To study and evaluate all regulations, legislation, and recommendations which might affect the speech and hearing profession or program and to help prepare and support such regulations and recommendations as will be beneficial to the profession; secure the services of a lobbyist with Board approval and act as liaison between the lobbyist and the Board of Directors.

Membership and Publications CommitteeIn conjunction with Administrative Assistant, process all applications for membership and exercise general supervision over matters related to membership, subject to reversal if necessary by majority vote of the Executive Committee;  compile, edit and distribute the MSHA Communicator and MSHA Directory and other assigned official publications, in conjunction with Administrative Assistant.

Honors Committee – To receive and review recommendations for and to select persons to receive the honors of the Association; confer MSHA Awards to recipients at MSHA Annual Business luncheon.

Continuing Education Committee – To administer MSHA’s sponsorship of continuing education programs in conjunction with Administrative Assistant.

Ethical Practices Committee –  To present future amendments to the Code of Ethics to membership for majority approval by written ballot; process alleged violations of the Code of Ethics according to the Ethical Practice Committee Statement of Practices and Procedures; publish the Code of Ethics along with procedures for processing alleged violations in the Directory of Montana Speech Pathologists and Audiologists.

Public Relations Committee – To raise public awareness of the profession by promoting speech/language pathologists as the field experts in the areas of communication disorders; develop and disseminate information about communication problems to the public and other professional organizations through activities such as Better Speech and Hearing Month, professional brochures, etc.

Nominations Committee – To solicit nominations from the membership for each available MSHA office and each expiring Board membership.

Licensure Committee – To serve as liaison between the Speech Language Pathology and Audiology licensure board and membership of the Association.